Manchester City star beats United’s Bruno Fernandes to win the Premier League player of the Month of January

Share on social media

Manchester City player has Ilkay Gindogan has been presented with the Premier League Player of the Month of January award.

The German international was said to have beaten Manchester United star Bruno Fernandez to win the award, Bruno has won the award four times in his football career at old Trafford.

Gindogan who has stepped up his game has been impressive since the turn of the new calendar year, contributing immensely to the Citizen’s sizzling form so far.

Pep Guardiola’s side have won their last ten consecutive Premier League matches to go five points clear atop of the English topflight.

Six of the victories were in the new year – with Gundogan’s efforts visible to the officials as he stands out from the crowd.

He tweeted: “An honour to be Premier Peague Player of the Month. Thanks to everyone who has voted for me. A big thank you to all my teammates – it would have not been possible without your amazing support!”

Although he is not famous for goal scoring, the Manchester City number 8 has scored five goals in just six matches, including a brace against West Brom, inspiring his side to a five goal win.

He fired in a goal of the season contender against Crystal Palace at the Etihad Stadium, skipping past Andros Townsend before angling a strike into Vicente Guaita’s far corner.

Ilkay Gundogan celebrates one of his goals in January.
Photo: Simon Stacpoole
Source: Getty Images

Gundogan also opened the scoring against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge, beating Edouard Mendy from the edge of the area with a driven strike that got City on their way to a comfortable away win.

He helped the club to set a new record in English football following their 3-1 win over Swansea in the FA Cup quarter-finals as they reach the semis.

Goals by Kyle Walker, Raheem Sterling and Gabriel Jesus were enough to hand the Citizens their 15th straight win in all competitions.

Manchester City have now surpassed Preston which had 14 consecutive wins during the 1891-1892 season as well as the Arsenal team of 1987-1988 season which also managed 14 straight wins.

Related posts

See Why Manchester United Signs Amad Diallo From Atalanta


Ronaldo Under Investigation After Flouting COVID-19 Rules, During His Girlfriend’s Birthday


The brilliant Luke Shaw stat that highlights his Manchester United impact after Newcastle win


Leave a Comment